no avatar

Arby's Classic ready to rock

Douglas Fritz • Dec 25, 2018 at 8:10 PM

Dobyns-Bennett and Science Hill have been battling some of the nation’s best for many years in the Arby’s Classic.

This year doesn’t look like a respite for either team in the 36th annual holiday basketball tournament at Viking Hall in Bristol, Tenn.

Science Hill kicks off its Arby’s participation with a game Wednesday at 7 p.m. against North Carolina’s Carmel Christian. The Indians follow in the 8:30 slot, taking on Kentucky’s Trinity.


Science Hill coach Ken Cutlip said he believes his team is facing one of the Arby’s best entrants this year.

“They are considered one of the favorites to win the tournament,” Cutlip said. “They boast four Division I commitments.”

The Cougars, from Matthews, were 24-4 and Class 2A state champions last year. Donovan Gregory, a 6-foot-4 senior, is an Appalachian State commitment who averaged 20 points per game last season.

Other standouts are 6-5 DeAngelo Epps (College of Charleston commit), 6-8 Jake Boggs (UNC Wilmington), and 6-8 Marten Maide (Liberty).

Cutlip said his players are excited about the challenge.

“You cannot find a better tournament atmosphere anywhere,” he said. “Our kids always look forward to competing against great teams that are not from this area.”


Out of Louisville, the Shamrocks were 30-4 and a Sweet 16 team last year.

They are led by 6-5 senior David Johnson (14 points, 6 rebounds per game). He was the 2016 Arby’s Classic most valuable player when Trinity beat Chattanooga McCallie in the finals.

Other standouts are 6-4 Stan Turnier and 6-5 Jamil Hardaway. Turnier is a preferred walk-on for Georgia.


The tournament gets underway at 1 p.m. when Union takes on the Bahamas’ Tabernacle Baptist, which is making its 20th straight Arby’s Classic appearance.

The Falcons were 30-4 and Bahamas national champions last year. Joshua Dames (22 points per game), and 6-6 Romad Dean (16 points, 13 rebounds) are returning players.

Union will be without its top player. Wes Slagle, a 6-5 senior, is out for the season with an injury.

That game will be followed at 2:30 p.m. by Greeneville battling Wasilla, Alaska.

Also on the first-day schedule are Morristown East facing South Carolina’s Cardinal Newman at 4 p.m. followed by a 5:30 contest matching Buford, Ga., against Tennessee High.

Following a consolation- bracket contest at 2:30 p.m. on Thursday, Bearden will take on the Union-Tabernacle winner at 4 p.m. Sullivan East meets Georgia’s Mount Bethel at 5:30 p.m. The Eagles were 28-7 and Georgia D-1AA state champs in 2017-18. Georgia Tech recruit Coleman Boyd returns along with Southeastern Conference-level recruit Jordan Meka, a 6-8 junior.

At 7 p.m., Gate City meets Alabama’s Wenonah. The Dragons were 29-8 and lost in the 5A state semifinals last season. Cameron Tucker, a 6-5 senior, averaged 20 points per game. Justin Minger, a 6-4 senior, averaged 18.

The final game is Utah’s Orem playing the winner between Greeneville and Wasilla at 8:30 p.m.

The winners’ bracket quarterfinals are set for Friday at 5, 6:30, 8 and 9:30 p.m. Semifinal action is slated for Saturday at 7 and 8:30 p.m.

After a day off on Sunday, the Arby’s resumes on New Year’s Eve with the finals slated for 6:30 p.m.


Once again the tournament will have a pair of highlight individual competitions. The Dick’s Sporting Goods Slam Dunk Contest is set for Friday at 5:30 p.m. and the Fun Factory Three Point Contest is scheduled for Monday at 4 p.m.

36th Arby’s Classic

At Viking Hall, Bristol, Tenn.


Union vs. Tabernacle, Bahamas, 1 p.m.

Greeneville vs. Wasilla, Alaska, 2:30 p.m.

Morristown East vs. Cardinal Newman, S.C., 4 p.m.

Tennessee High vs. Buford, Ga., 5:30 p.m.

Science Hill vs. Carmel Christian, N.C., 7 p.m.

Dobyns-Bennett vs. Trinity, Ky., 8:30 p.m.


Union-Tabernacle loser vs. Greeneville- Wasilla loser, 2:30 p.m.

Union-Tabernacle winner vs. Bearden, 4 p.m.

Sullivan East vs. Mount Bethel, Ga., 5:30 p.m.

Gate City vs. Wenonah, Ala., 7 p.m.

Greeneville-Wasilla winner vs. Orem, Utah, 8:30 p.m.


Morristown East-Cardinal Newman loser vs. Buford-THS loser, 9 a.m.

Science Hill-Carmel Christian loser vs. Trinity-D-B loser, 10:30 a.m.

Bearden-Union/Tabernacle loser vs. Sullivan East/Mount Bethel loser, noon

Gate City-Wenonah loser vs. Orem/Greeneville-Wasilla loser, 1:30 p.m.

Morristown East-Newman winner vs. Buford-THS winner, 5 p.m.

Science Hill-Carmel Christian winner vs. Trinity-D-B winner, 6:30 p.m.

Bearden-Union/Tabernacle winner vs. Sullivan East-Mount Bethel winner, 8 p.m.

Gate City-Wenonah winner vs. Orem/Greeneville-Wasilla winner, 9:30 p.m.


Sixth-place semifinals, 9 a.m., 10:30 a.m.

Fifth-place semifinals, noon, 1:30 p.m.

Winners’ bracket semifinals, 7 p.m., 8:30 p.m.


Consolation final, 11:30 a.m.

Sixth place, 1 p.m.

Fifth place, 2:30 p.m.

Third place, 5 p.m.

Championship, 6:30 p.m.



David Crockett was well represented for all-state honors, and Daniel Boone’s Charlie Cole and Johnson County’s Nathan Lane were the only other area players on the Tennessee Sports Writers Class 6A through Class 3A teams.

The Class 2A and 1A teams will be released after Wednesday.

No area player earned a spot on the Class 6A team, but Crockett quarterback Cade Larkins, wide receiver Donta Hackler and lineman JR Giles grabbed places on the Class 5A team as did Cole at running back.

In Class 4A, no Tri-Cities area player made the squad. And in Class 3A, Lane earned the honor as a defensive back.

Boys basketball rankings

There has been some instability in the High School Top 10 this season, and this week was no exception. Johnson County is the biggest mover, up three spots to No. 5.

Team (W-L) — Prv

1. Dobyns-Bennett (10-1) — 1

2. Elizabethton (9-1) — 2

3. Tennessee High (10-3) — 4

4. Science Hill (8-7) — 3

5. Johnson County (10-4) — 8

6. Daniel Boone (6-6) — 9

7. Sullivan East (10-5) — 7

8. Sullivan South (10-5) — 5

9. University High (10-3) — 10

10. Hampton (9-4) — 6

Girls basketball rankings

The only change for this week came from Cherokee, which stretched its win streak to six games and moved up a notch to No. 6.

Team (W-L) — Prv

1. Dobyns-Bennett (12-1) — 1

2. Science Hill (11-2) — 2

3. Daniel Boone (9-4) — 3

4. Sullivan Central (8-6) — 4

5. Johnson County (6-5) — 5

6. Cherokee (11-3) — 7

7. Unicoi County (8-3) — 6

8. Cloudland (9-4) — 8

9. Sullivan South (9-8) — 9

10. Happy Valley (6-5) — 10

Kingsport Times News Videos