SCSO's fallen officers remembered, honored at annual ceremony

J. H. Osborne • May 17, 2019 at 10:00 PM

BLOUNTVILLE — The Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office hosted a memorial service Friday to honor county officers who have died in the line of duty. The ceremony included the unveiling of the latest name carved into the stone at the Fallen Officers Memorial just outside the sheriff’s office: Sgt. Steve Hinkle, who gave his life in the line of duty earlier this year.

Bill Darden, district director for Rep. Phil Roe, delivered the keynote speech and read aloud a letter from the congressman.

Music was provided by Phillips & Banks as well as Aaron Hagy. Jon K. Shell played “Amazing Grace” on bagpipes. A 21-gun salute was fired by the SCSO Honor Guard. And Trooper James Kipper preformed taps.

As Sheriff Jeff Cassidy called out each of the names of those being honored, Chief Deputy Tracey Kittrell assisted family members, or SCSO officers, with the placement of blue bows on 11 recently planted rose bushes adjacent to the memorial. In past years, the service has included placement of cut, long-stem roses at the memorial — one for each officer being remembered. Cassidy said unlike those cut flowers, which wither and fade, the newly planted rose bushes will be nurtured and grow to be daily reminders of those who gave all in the line of service.


In 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15 falls as National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others.

Roll call of officers remembered (and end of watch date):

• Special Deputy Lee Eldreth (Christmas Day, 1907)

• Deputy Hubert Webb (April 13, 1925)

• Constable Bruce Barker (May 30, 1938)

• Sgt. Arthur Lane (March 30, 1981)

• Deputy Glayton Parker (May 31, 1990)

• Sgt. Roscoe Teague (May 30, 1995)

• Deputy Steve Mullins (Nov. 22, 1995)

• Deputy Steve Riner (Sept. 29, 2001)

• Deputy Barry Shelton (Sept. 29, 2001)

• Deputy Robert Bowlin Sr. (Oct. 31, 2016)

• Sgt. Steve Hinkle (February 26, 2019)